January 11, 2014 at 7:08 pm #463AnonymousGuest
I have just noticed the option to update Contango 1.5 to 5.0 in WP updates: …../wp-admin/update-core.php. And when I click to update, I get this:The update process is starting. This process may take a while on some hosts, so please be patient.
Enabling Maintenance mode…
Updating Theme Contango Pro (1/1)
An error occurred while updating Contango Pro: Update package not available.
Disabling Maintenance mode…
All updates have been completed.
I did it 4 times, just in case, and the same result. How can I update?
KamilJanuary 11, 2014 at 7:28 pm #1184
Automatic upgrade is not available for PRO themes as they are not hosted on WordPress repo.
You must download new version from members area and following thread might be helpful to you,
ThanksJanuary 11, 2014 at 7:53 pm #1185AnonymousGuest
Ok, that is easy. Now, how do I backup my current theme settings and then restore them?January 11, 2014 at 7:59 pm #1186
If you are talking about Contango Options than no need to worry about them. Simple upgrade the theme and settings will remain same. OR simply hit SAVE CHANGES in the the Contango Options to synchronize the obsolete settings.
*** Never Reset Changes *** as it may remove your custom sidebars.
If you are talking about Theme Customization done by yourself, than you have to take backup of these files and may apply them later manually.
ThanksJanuary 11, 2014 at 8:16 pm #1187AnonymousGuest
Yes, I’m talking about Appearance/Contango Options. Out of curiosity, how do those settings remain the same if I delete the whole theme and then install a new one? Are the setting saved somewhere else?January 11, 2014 at 8:37 pm #1188
Yes, I’m talking about Appearance/Contango Options. Out of curiosity, how do those settings remain the same if I delete the whole theme and then install a new one?
Settings are stored in Database. As theme developers maintain the Code/Database relationship tightly so there is no need to worry about these settings. In simple,
– There is no change in Contango Options.
– Theme settings don’t delete on deactivation or removing the theme. Or you may say it is Soft Delete
ThanksJanuary 11, 2014 at 8:51 pm #1189AnonymousGuest
Great. That worked!
Big thanks and cheers.
KamilJanuary 11, 2014 at 8:52 pm #1190
Thanks for the feedback Kamil.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.